Four County
save energy
Pay Online


Four County EMC Directors Achieve Credentials

February 25th, 2016

The first co-op Board in the state, Four County EMC’s entire Board of Directors attained their Director Gold credential from the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA).

In order to earn the credential, all ten directors had to complete a core set of five courses followed by a variety of elective courses in topics ranging from finance to technology and then commit to a continuing education requirement throughout their service on the co-op board. The Director Gold credential recognizes directors who are committed to continuing their education throughout their service on the board by earning three continuing education credits over a two-year period. 

Today’s electric utility environment imposes new demands on electric cooperative directors, particularly increased knowledge of changes in the electric utility business, new governance skills and a working knowledge of the cooperative principles. Four County EMC has a commitment to work through NRECA to sharpen this director credential program for the benefit of their electric cooperative members.

“Our Board has always been very mindful and self-motivated and is aware of how important education is in our changing industry. Their overall dedication and commitment to attend these classes and meetings exemplifies their loyalty to the co-op,” stated CEO Mitchell Keel.

                Four County EMC serves over 32,500 members in Bladen, Duplin, Pender, Sampson, Columbus and Onslow counties. The Cooperative is member-owned, not-for-profit, and overseen by a Board of Directors elected by the membership. The Board is responsible for planning, developing, operating and maintaining a reliable electric system to the counties served.


©2019 Four County Electric Membership Corporation
Four County Electric Membership Corp. 1822 NC Hwy. 53 West, Burgaw, NC 28425 (T) 888.368.7289 (F) 910.259.1860
Site Developed by G&T Communications