Four County
save energy
Pay Online


Local Educators May Apply for a Kenan Fellowship

November 10th, 2016

Outstanding K-12 eduators from local schools in Four County EMC's service area are invited to apply. Outstanding K-12 eduators from local schools in Four County EMC's service area are invited to apply.

Ever wondered what really happens when you flip a light switch? Find out and use that experience to help students see how STEM concepts apply in the real world as a Kenan Fellow this summer at Four County Electric Membership Corporation.

Kenan Fellowships address the critical need to develop and empower high-quality teacher leaders, who, in turn, make learning more authentic for students. Four County Electric and the Kenan Fellows Program for Teacher Leadership are pleased to invite outstanding K-12 educators from local schools in Four County EMC’s service area to apply for a 2017-18 fellowship award.

The fellowships begin with a summer internship with a local business and are supported by 80 hours of professional development that focuses on building leadership capacity and delivering proven instructional strategies. 

As a Fellow with Four County Electric, you can explore the various co-op business operations and work alongside those who build and support the infrastructure. Learn about the electric cooperative model and how Four County is working toward a more comprehensive energy plan. Use your experience to create electrifying lessons that will help students not only understand where electricity comes from and how it is produced, but also increase their awareness of the various career pathways in the energy field.

Fellows are awarded a $5,000 stipend and must develop and implement relevant educational materials and/or programs based on their internship experience. The year-long fellowship is designed to allow teachers to maintain their current school system duties. Fellowships are awarded in the spring to about 50 outstanding teachers across the state.

Get application guidelines and apply here for the 2017-18 Kenan Fellows Program. Applications for the 2017-18 fellowship year will be accepted through January 16, 2017. Visit for more detailed information.

©2019 Four County Electric Membership Corporation
Four County Electric Membership Corp. 1822 NC Hwy. 53 West, Burgaw, NC 28425 (T) 888.368.7289 (F) 910.259.1860
Site Developed by G&T Communications