Four County
save energy
Pay Online


Four County EMC Selects Duplin Teacher for Prestigious Kenan Fellowship

May 12th, 2017

Rebecca Brown, Kenan Fellow Rebecca Brown, Kenan Fellow

Rebecca Brown, a science and social studies teacher at Chinquapin Elementary School, has been named a 2017-18 Kenan Fellow. Her fellowship was made possible through a partnership between Four County Electric Membership Corporation, North Carolina’s Electric Cooperatives and the Kenan Fellows Program for Teacher Leadership at N.C. State University.

Brown has taught in Duplin County Schools since 2014. She is among the 29 teachers from across North Carolina who have been selected to participate in the 2017-18 fellowship year. Beginning in June, she will work alongside mentors and industry experts at Four County EMC learning how power is generated and delivered; and exploring the history of the electric cooperative model and how Four County is innovating its services and enhancing systems to continue to meet, and exceed, the expectations of its members. 

Our youth are our future, and that’s why Four County EMC is committed to providing educational opportunities for teachers and students. We continue our commitment to build strong communities and schools by donating time and funding to programs such as the Kenan Fellowship. We strive to make an educational difference in the communities in which we live and work.

Brown will transfer this knowledge to her students by creating lessons that will help them understand and how electricity is produced and delivered to cooperative members. Her lessons will also increase their awareness of various career pathways in the energy field and at the cooperative.

“The program’s focus on real-world professional learning shows educators what the science and math they teach in the classroom looks like in practice,” said Dr. Elaine Franklin, director of the Kenan Fellows Program. “It also provides educators with knowledge of local career opportunities available to students, and strengthens collaboration with industry. This is especially important in rural communities. With the support of industry leaders such as the Four County EMC and North Carolina’s Electric Cooperatives, we are able to reach more students in locations across the state.”

As part of the award, Kenan Fellows receive a $5,000 stipend and participate in 80 hours of professional development focused on project-based learning, digital learning and leadership development. Educators who complete the year-long program remain in the classroom while growing professionally as part of a statewide network of teacher leaders. Today, an elite network of more than 400 Kenan Fellows are working to improve Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) education in North Carolina and beyond.

About Four County Electric Membership Corporation: Four County EMC is a not-for-profit electric Cooperative owned by the people it serves. As a hometown utility, Four County EMC is committed to providing safe, reliable and affordable energy to its more than 32,500 commercial and residential member-owners in six North Carolina counties, including Bladen, Duplin, Pender, Sampson, Columbus and Onslow counties.

About the Kenan Fellows Program: Established in 2000 as an initiative of the Kenan Institute for Engineering, Technology & Science at N.C. State University, the Kenan Fellows Program addresses the critical need for high-quality professional development for educators, and is the largest (science, technology, engineering and math) STEM-focused teacher fellowship in North Carolina. The fellowships are made possible through the generous support of the program’s many corporate, education and foundation partners including North Carolina’s Electric Cooperatives and Four County EMC. Visit to learn more.

©2019 Four County Electric Membership Corporation
Four County Electric Membership Corp. 1822 NC Hwy. 53 West, Burgaw, NC 28425 (T) 888.368.7289 (F) 910.259.1860
Site Developed by G&T Communications