Four County
save energy
Pay Online


Basketball Scholarships Available - Middle School Students Encouraged to Apply by March 30

March 15th, 2012

The deadline is quickly approaching for middle-school students to apply for one of Four County EMC’s Touchstone Energy scholarships to attend summer basketball camp.

The electric cooperative is sending one boy to the Roy Williams Basketball Camp at the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill and one girl to the Kellie Harper Women’s Basketball Academy at N.C. State in Raleigh. Applications must be postmarked or submitted by March 30.

“Touchstone Energy Sports Camp Scholarships have proven to be unforgettable for students year after year,” said Gay Johnson, Director of Corporate Communications at Four County. “We’re proud to continue this tradition of giving outstanding kids the chance to learn from championship-winning coaches in a college setting.”

Campers will work with collegiate coaches and players on fundamental skills that will help the young athletes excel on and off the court. Coach Roy Williams, a two-time ACC Coach of the Year, has led the Tar Heels to two NCAA championships and three Final Fours in nine seasons. Kellie Harper is in her third season as head coach of the Wolfpack Women and was the 2007 Southern Conference Coach of the Year.

To apply, students must be in the sixth, seventh or eighth grade during the 2012-2013 school year. Applicants must have permission from a parent or guardian to attend the overnight camp and must provide their own transportation to and from the camp if selected to attend.

Applications and more information on the scholarships can be found at or by contacting Gay Johnson at 888-368-7289. Applicants will be judged on academics, extra-curricular activities and an essay. Winners will be announced by May 1.

North Carolina’s Touchstone Energy cooperatives will award more than 50 sports camp scholarships to students statewide this year.

The Touchstone Energy Sports Camp Scholarships provide a one-of-a-kind educational and athletic opportunity to our state’s youth and reflect Touchstone Energy’s core values of accountability, integrity, innovation and commitment to community.

Four County Electric serves over 32,000 members within Bladen, Duplin, Pender, Sampson, Columbus and Onslow counties.


©2019 Four County Electric Membership Corporation
Four County Electric Membership Corp. 1822 NC Hwy. 53 West, Burgaw, NC 28425 (T) 888.368.7289 (F) 910.259.1860
Site Developed by G&T Communications